THIS NOVEMBER .....

Thursday, December 13, 2018

Sarai: A Social Conciene and Global Awake Up Call Graphic Novel


https://www.amazon.com/gp/search/ref=pe_14046280_377936740_pe_rt_f1_4/?rh=i%3Astripbooks%2Cn%3A283155%2Cn%3A%211000%2Cn%3A4366%2Cn%3A3325104011%2Cp_n_publication_date%3A1250227011&bbn=3325104011&ie=UTF8

I usually post information on comic books that a pure entertainment and fun escapism. Comic books that you enjoy on a lazy Saturday afternoon alone or with best Bud.  Today, is not usual and the graphic novel Sarai is far from fun and escapism comic. No, Sarai is an in your face, eye opening, gut wrenching look at the terror of some young women and Nigeria forced into slavery.

Below is the official description and a special note from the author of Sarai, Sonica Ellis.
---
 Description:

Sarai by Sonica Ellis and Jeffrey Lewis

"I want to kill them. I want to kill them all."
Sarai is a 12-year-old Nigerian girl whose modest village life is shattered when she is captured by the Ken Jou Plek (Afrikaans for "Know Your Place"), an extremist organization dedicated to the idea that women and girls should be kept down. Like all extremists, the KJP are prepared to realize this vision through torture, slavery, and bloodshed. Certain she is going to die, Sarai makes a bargain with an unusual ally in an attempt to save her life and the lives of her fellow captives.






Tragedy, trauma, man's seemingly limitless capacity for cruelty, the frailty of human existence, justice, and retribution are all laid bare in this cutting-edge graphic novel.






Brutally relevant and emotionally powerful , Sarai fits perfectly alongside such iconic antiheroes as Marvel Comics' The Punisher, Wolverine and Moon Knight and Image Comics' Hit-Girl

Note from the Author
 

"I can still remember the exact moment the idea came to me. It was April 14, 2014 and I was sitting in front of the TV, frantically trying to get my taxes done so they would be postmarked April 15th, when I heard the CNN anchor say "...as many as 200 girls were abducted from their boarding school in northeastern Nigeria by heavily armed Boko Haram Islamists who arrived in trucks, vans, and buses, officials and witnesses said." Having a young daughter myself I immediately set aside my W-2s and 1040. In the days that followed, I could think of little else. How terrified those poor girls must be. What horrible abuse might they be experiencing at the hands of these savages? Was there anything anyone could do to save them? To cope with this terrible tragedy my mind began to think what it might be like if one of the girls had the power to fight back, to save her fellow classmates, and to exact righteous vengeance on their captors. Hence Sarai was born."




Sarai is on sale at Amazon.com the comic book section.

Friday, December 7, 2018

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

REMEMBERING THE SOCIAL AND CREATIVE INFLUENCE OF COMICBOOK CREATOR STAN LEE (1922-2018)


REMEMBERING THE SOCIAL AND  CREATIVE INFLUENCE OF COMIC BOOK CREATOR STAN LEE (1922-2018)

My husband woke me at five this morning to tell me that comic book mogul Stan Lee has died at age  95. That instantly brought about a rush of childhood memories of the years that we as kids back in the fifties and early sixties were told that people that read  comic books were of lower intelligence and other such nonsense. These nonsensical notions were usually passed down to us by well meaning parents, teachers and neighborhood bullies wanting to steal our treasured comic books that we used our meager weekly allowances to buy, but only served to make comic books a not so well hidden cult  among the youth of America.

We loved are comic books so much that we bought the newest issues in droves.  Whenever we had free time we could sometimes be caught reading them between the pages of encyclopedias,  biology and geology textbooks. They would be confiscated and trashed but usually not before our parents sneaked a peek at those colorful pages they had condemned as bad for us. Those pages opened our small world to unimaginable adventure, intrigue and drama, which was either absent or limited in the early days of children and youth entertainment.  Stan Lee's comic books also gave us, for a short time a method of  escape from the strict norms of our era, which attempted to define who we should be as kids and young adults as appose to who we could inspire to become. An attempt that met a fast and painful death among the so-called ruling class in the sixties.

As adults and the survivors of the great social suppression attempt of comic books as well as the attack on human  intelligence, we were the first to see our comic book heroes in movie's theaters back in the late seventies.  Stan Lee's superheroes freed our imaginations, and made us want to be heroes too. As the decades marched on, Stan Lee's comic books help to end the divide between the arts, the sciences, and beyond.

What Stan Lee created in the early 1940s has an even  greater impact on our culture today and worldwide. There is not a day that goes by where we don’t see a comic book based movie in theaters or streaming online. Television networks, like the CW, Fox, NBC, and Freeform air weekly DC Comics series. Each and every day and at any hour we can buy comic book based clothing, artwork, games, devices in stores and for sell online. 

All this is due to the help and influence of the creative imagination of Stan Lee.

He will be truly missed.

Excelsior!

-- Widescreen Online Review

Related: Stan Lee, American comic book writer

Saturday, October 13, 2018

What to know before you play Assassin's Creed Odyssey

If Assassin's Creed Odyssey couldn't more confusing to newbies like myself, below is a video tries to explain the new a new character in the game. 



Friday, October 12, 2018

DC Universe Live Action Titans, A Review


Tonight I  watched the debut of Dc Universe first original series, DC Titans. Most DC Comics fans knew that the series would be live-action. However, I do not believe anyone was prepared for the dark side of the series to be darker than that of Batman Beyond, or to surpass the violence in that of the most recent DC movies.

Once you got over the brutality displayed by Dick Grayson, it was easy to admit that making the series for online streaming was a wise choice.  Because nowhere in the history of the Titans will you find them as such extremely dark, damaged and dangerous anti-heroes. These incarnations of the Titans were all grown to adapt to the world inside the Dc Universe  in which they live.

The main characters are easily recognizable with Rachel Roth as a scared teenager coming into her own as the Raven.  Frighten of the alien force inside her, Rachel goes on the run after witnessing the death of her mother. Koriand'r / Kory Anders / Starfire with her flaming red hair and glowing emerald eyes that shine brightly when she is aflame. In the series Starfire is puzzle when she wakes up without a memory of who she is, that men are trying to kill her and why she is looking for Rachel Roth. That she can burn men to cinders disturbs her only a little.  Then there is the changeling, Garfield "Gar" Logan, a green haired kid who is better known as Beast Boy.  He is so immature that he can only think of using his abilities of changing into any beast he wants just to steal video games.

Finally,  Richard "Dick" Grayson/Robin,  like Bruce Wayne, Dick lost his parents to violence.  After learning all that he could from Bruce/Batman and fearing that he would not become his own person if he stay with him, Dick strikes out on his own and  during the series forms the Titans. With no superpowers of his own, Dick as Robin, but looking like Nightwing, is no less hindered in his fighting skills than his super pals.  He, like the others, tends to go over the edge when dealing with criminals more than we ever saw in the Titans animated series.  Here in the DC Universe series, Dick Grayson is a detective for the  Detroit Police Department.



One must sign up for an account to stream videos on DC Universe. However, the cost is minimal for the chance to stream some great entertainment from new and classic series, movies, cartoons, plus DC Universe Live Presents: DC Daily, where host Kevin Smith introduces you to all the great features of the DC Universe.


DC Titans stars Brenton Thwaites as Richard "Dick" Grayson / Robin, Anna Diop as Koriand'r / Kory Anders / Starfire, Ryan Potter as Garfield "Gar" Logan / Beast Boy, and Teagan Croft as Rachel Roth / Raven.

Saturday, October 13th from 11am to 8pm Emerald City Comics Yard Sale and Comic Fest

Come join the fun at Emerald City Comics Yard Sale beginning tomorrow at 11am.


http://emeraldcitycomics.com/



Projected Upcoming DC Animated Films For 2019



Upcoming DC Animated Films In 2019




How the Hulk returns

The Return Of Savage Hulk! (The Immortal Hulk Vol 1: Or is he Both?!)



Wednesday, October 10, 2018

From novels to role playing games to streaming media The Witcher is now making its mark in an Netflix upcoming original series.

If you have been a fan of the ‎ role-playing game The Witcher you will love knowing that your favorite characters are coming to Netflix in a live action series. This series is based on the fantasy novels of Polish writer, Andrzej Sapkowski.

The good news today is that it was announced that the actresses Freya Allan and Anya Chalotra were cast in the roles of Cirilla Fiona Elen Riannon (better known as Ciri and Yennefer of Vengerberg. The actresses play opposite Henry Cavill who is to play Geralt of Rivia. This live action fantasy drama is perhaps Netflix most interesting original series to date because The Witcher is an multi-award PC game that has been around since the days of Atari. I am sure some of you remember the Atari games and consoles.
In the game The Witcher follows the story of Geralt of Rivia, a witcher: a traveling monster hunter for hire, gifted with unnatural powers. The story takes place in a fictional medieval world.  on Geralt of Rivia is also known as "the White Wolf", who at the beginning of the game suffers from amnesia. He gradually learns that he was a very renowned witcher, and that he had friends and enemies almost everywhere, who remember him but whom he does not remember. Through the player's actions, he will redefine those relationships and choose his path in the political intrigue that surrounds him.



Also in the game, Ciri, was born in 1253, and most likel during the Belleteyn holiday. She was the sole princess of Cintra, the daughter of Pavetta and Emhyr var Emreis (who was using the alias "Duny" at the time) as well as Queen Calanthe's granddaughter.

After Geralt of Rivia helped lift Duny's curse, Duny asked what reward the witcher would like and Geralt proclaimed the Law of Surprise, as it turned out Pavetta was pregnant with Ciri, unbeknownst to Duny.

On the other hand, Yennefer  was born in 1173, and she had a rough childhood from the moment she was born, having been born a hunchback. Her father immediately detested her due to this deformity and blamed Yennefer's mother for it, claiming it was through her side, with mages and elven blood, not to mention her having had an abortion before, that caused the deformity. Her mother initially tried to protect Yennefer, believing it was by the will of the gods, but her father still struck Yennefer until one day he left them both for someone else. After this, her mother, upset that her husband had left, also began to beat her own daughter.

During the Battle of Sodden Hill she was blinded by Fringilla Vigo, a Nilfgaardian sorceress. Her sight was later magically restored but she still bore the emotional scars.
Like most sorceresses, she was sterile. She secretly sought a way of restoring her fertility. She gave her motherly love to Ciri - the child destined for Geralt by the Law of Surprise - teaching her about magic while in Ellander, at the Temple of Melitele under the watchful eye of Nenneke.


Added to the  list of The Witcher's  cast members are Jodhi May playing Queen Calanthe of Cintra; Björn Hlynur Haraldsson will play her husband, Eist. Adam Levy will play Mousesack the Druid; MyAnna Buring is the head of the magical academy named Tissaia; Mimi Ndiweni and Therica Wilson-Read play the two apprentice sorcerers, Fringilla and Sabrina; and finally, Millie Brady will play an outcast princess, Renfri.



If the Witcher is anything like Game of Thrones, it will make history for Andrzej Sapkowski and Netflix.


Also from Netflix:

Raise hell! Castlevania Season 2 — join our awakening October 26, only on Netflix.




Monday, January 22, 2018

Marvel Studios’ new superhorse duo film “Ant-Man and the Wasp" pictured in costumes




Marvel Studios’ new superheroes duo film “Ant-Man and the Wasp” is set for release on July 6. Check out the new photo above showing the title characters together for the first time in full costume!

The film's stars are Paul Rudd as Scott Lang aka Ant-Man and Evangeline Lilly as Hope van Dyne aka the Wasp.

Win A Private Screening of Marvel Studios' 'Black Panther'

Chance to Win A Private Screening of Marvel Studios' 'Black Panther'. The contest is open to Disney Movie Rewards Members who are legal residents of the US/DC (excld. ND & SD) 13 years and older only. Must live within 50 miles of a Regal Cinemas® Theatre location. Sweepstakes starts 1/17/18, ends 2/9/18.

Get your tickets now for “Black Panther” and stay tuned for even more royal action in the coming days and weeks!


“Black Panther” hits theaters February 16! While you await the King, follow @theblackpanther on Twitter and like Black Panther’s official Facebook page!


'Black Panther' arrives in theaters February 16!

. Marvel’s Young Guns 2018 are here!




Marvel has introduced a new group of comics creators for their superheroes, the Marvel’s Young Guns 2018.
The story goes like this.



The 2018’s Young Guns inductees are:















 
Starting on January 31, in addition to their regular series, each of the Young Guns will create a special limited exclusive variant cover for six new books, including AVENGERS #678, X-MEN: RED #1, MARVEL TWO-IN-ONE #3, DOCTOR STRANGE: DAMNATION #1, BLACK PANTHER #170, and AMAZING SPIDER-MAN #797! These variants will be given to select retailers and be made available to fans worldwide through Televisa in Mexico and Panini in Europe, Russia, South America, and other markets.



Source: Marvel Comics

AKIVA GOLDSMAN TALKS TITANS

JENSEN ANNOYS JARED WITH PIANO NOISES & JARED LOSES IT! SPNLVCON 2018

\

RED DEAD REDEMPTION 2 FULL 4K GAMEPLAY (2018) PS4/XBOX ONE